The automatic thumbnails feature which has existed since BEE2.2 is widely known for producing thumbnails which generally suck, to the point that this type of thumbnail has practically become synonymous with "bad map". They also come with some other problems - by default BEE2 will silently wipe out anything in your Portal 2 screenshots folder every time a map is compiled. While this can be turned off with the "cleanup old screenshots" setting, users might not know what this does or leave it on by accident, and once they've realized it might be too late. If you do disable it, then your hard drive will slowly fill up with (practically useless) thumbnail screenshots every time you preview a map.
I think that the automatic screenshot-on-entry behavior should be removed. The screenshot thumbnail mode would still exist, but should only use screenshots taken by the player with F5, and the description of the setting should be updated to reflect this. If no screenshots have been taken in the map yet, then it should use the regular editor view thumbnail. This would also allow the "cleanup old screenshots" setting to be defaulted to off or removed entirely so existing screenshots aren't being deleted without warning.
The automatic thumbnails feature which has existed since BEE2.2 is widely known for producing thumbnails which generally suck, to the point that this type of thumbnail has practically become synonymous with "bad map". They also come with some other problems - by default BEE2 will silently wipe out anything in your Portal 2
screenshotsfolder every time a map is compiled. While this can be turned off with the "cleanup old screenshots" setting, users might not know what this does or leave it on by accident, and once they've realized it might be too late. If you do disable it, then your hard drive will slowly fill up with (practically useless) thumbnail screenshots every time you preview a map.I think that the automatic screenshot-on-entry behavior should be removed. The screenshot thumbnail mode would still exist, but should only use screenshots taken by the player with F5, and the description of the setting should be updated to reflect this. If no screenshots have been taken in the map yet, then it should use the regular editor view thumbnail. This would also allow the "cleanup old screenshots" setting to be defaulted to off or removed entirely so existing screenshots aren't being deleted without warning.