Repository navigation
Fixes #342: Error on update form if object has been deleted in main - #348
Merged
Merged
Conversation
arthanson
marked this pull request as ready for review
October 29, 2025 17:10
jnovinger
reviewed
Nov 3, 2025
jnovinger
requested changes
Nov 6, 2025
Contributor
Author
|
@jnovinger good catches, fixed. |
arthanson
marked this pull request as draft
November 6, 2025 17:44
Contributor
Author
|
@jnovinger There was a bug case where if you created the object in the branch it was still complaining that it wasn't existing in main. I refactored the code to a common function as the testing was more complicated. |
arthanson
marked this pull request as ready for review
November 6, 2025 18:54
jnovinger
approved these changes
Nov 7, 2025
This file contains hidden or bidirectional Unicode text that may be interpreted or compiled differently than what appears below. To review, open the file in an editor that reveals hidden Unicode characters.
Learn more about bidirectional Unicode characters
Sign up for free
to join this conversation on GitHub.
Already have an account?
Sign in to comment
Add this suggestion to a batch that can be applied as a single commit.This suggestion is invalid because no changes were made to the code.Suggestions cannot be applied while the pull request is closed.Suggestions cannot be applied while viewing a subset of changes.Only one suggestion per line can be applied in a batch.Add this suggestion to a batch that can be applied as a single commit.Applying suggestions on deleted lines is not supported.You must change the existing code in this line in order to create a valid suggestion.Outdated suggestions cannot be applied.This suggestion has been applied or marked resolved.Suggestions cannot be applied from pending reviews.Suggestions cannot be applied on multi-line comments.Suggestions cannot be applied while the pull request is queued to merge.Suggestion cannot be applied right now. Please check back later.
Fixes: #342
Adds a warning if you try to modify an object that has been deleted in main. It is possible to make a fix to create the changelog without referring to main, however this will still result in an un-mergeable branch because of the way the merge plays back the changelogs in order, so a user message and preventing the save was decided as the better course of operation.
For delete - the post_save signal can come in before the pre_delete so put the check in both places.
This covers the update/delete of items that originally existed in main and were deleted in main but still exist in the branch. Also checks are made if the object was only created in the branch (so it doesn't exist in main as it never existed in main).